Diet Pineapple Upside-Down Soda Cakes

Using diet soda to replace the ingredients added to boxed cake mix is a very old trick, but I thought I might just impart this wisdom on the couple of you that don’t know yet. You can take any boxed cake mix and add any diet soda to it an you get a moist cake with half the calories compared to if you had made the cake following the directions. This has been my saving grace for weight watchers…because I love my cake.

I have been trying all different flavor combinations I can think of. My tried and true are Funfetti with Sprite Zero and chocolate with diet root beer or Coke Zero. Now I will warn you before you say “this doesn’t taste like normal cake”. Its true, its true. Since these little diet gut bombs are made with fake sugar you can taste a little difference. that why I suggest using diet sodas that taste as close to their original counterparts as possible. Anything that ends with zero is a good contender as well as diet root beer, diet ginger ale, diet Sunkist and diet cream soda. All of these sodas don’t taste as different from the full sugar versions as say Coke vs Diet Coke.

Now that I have mastered the simple ones I have been playing around with fancier versions of these sweet treats. This is one that I made over the weekend and loved it. These were so easy you don’t even really need instructions, but I’ll give them to you anyway.

Take a box of yellow cake mix and add one cup diet cream soda, mix this together and set aside. Spray a cupcake pan and in the bottom of each tin put the smallest scraping of butter or margarine. I would have used butter spray but didn’t have any. Next add a little sprinkle of brown sugar in the bottom of each tin. On top of the brown sugar and butter place a pineapple ring a maraschino cherry in the center or just crushed pineapple if you prefer. You may have to trim the pineapple rings to fit. Next fill in the tins with the cake batter and bake at 350 for about 15 minutes or until they are puffy and a knife will come out of the center of the cakes clean.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I was bringing these to a dinner so I wanted them to be a little more decadent so I made a glaze to go on top of the cakes with 1/8 cup of the reserved pineapple juice from the can and 3 tbsp brown sugar. I let this simmer for a while until it thickened and then poured the gooey goodness on top of the mini upside down cakes. You can obviously leave this out for waistline reasons. I figured these babies about 7 points plus a cake (if you were curious about the WW points). Next time I make them I definitely want to add a little splash of rum to the glaze and maybe a little rum extract to the cake. I love rum cake and Mai Thai cake would be top of my list. Another yummy addition would be coconut extract and unsweetened shredded coconut to make Pina Colada cake.

Processed with VSCOcam

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

