Pungently Odd Oogy Pumpkin Pucks (AKA POOPP)

I check-in with God on a daily basis and right now I really feel like he is telling me that I am not destined to be a hippie mom blogger. You already saw what happened with my gummies…well I’m at it again with my crazy hippie mom blogger recipe antics. This time I tried pumpkin muffins. Every morning I go to Peet’s Coffee before work and it is not the coffee dependency or the unnecessary spending money that bothers me about this routine morning visit…it’s the calories in what I get. I am trying to be good and healthy when I think about it. For a while my routine was always a small cappuccino and a piece of pumpkin bread. There is just something about that combination that makes me feel cozy year round. I feel like it sets my day up right. When I eat it I feel like I am lounging in a sun room (I don’t have a sun room), curled up on a window seat (I don’t have a window seat), wearing a long sleeve cozy flannel (being a 90’s child I do own that) and flipping through garbage magazines while watching Pioneer Woman out of the corner of my eye on a rainy Sunday morning.  Even though my reality is wearing baggy khakis and a cardigan, held up in my dark, dank, gray cubicle in stinky San Francisco, with a homeless guy wearing nothing but a bed comforter running around outside (true story).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

My very gray atmosphere

I’m sure you have your vice as well, but you get it…mine is pumpkin bread and cappuccinos. It could be so much worse. I’ve seen celebrity rehab.  After coming to the realization that pumpkin bread can be 400 calories or more and cappuccinos ain’t calorie free either, I decided to try to find a lower calorie replacement for my morning vice. I started with changing my order from cappuccino to Americano, it may not be as milky or silky…but it does it’s job, which is wake me up. Just as a fun history lesson, I once heard that Americanos got their name during World War II. During the war American soldiers, that were stationed in Italy, would go to order coffee from small Italian coffee shops. The soldiers would be sorely disappointed when the coffee was strong bitter espresso, so the Italian coffee shop owners started adding hot water to dilute the espresso for the American soldiers. Thus came the name Americano; Italian for American, to remember what weenies we are when it comes to coffee. I told Barbecue Man this story on one of our first dates and he just shook his head and said, “I can’t believe you just told me a history of coffee story.” But I’m chalked full of them. I digress.

I changed my order to an Americano, but couldn’t find a substitution for the pumpkin bread. The spicy smelling, soft and gooey, makes me happy, pumpkin bread. So my new mission is to find a lower calorie, satisfying replacement that is better for me. So I hopped on the inter-webs and knew exactly who would make healthy pumpkin muffins…you guessed it, hippie mom bloggers! I found a recipe from Chelsea’s Messy Apron. She made a gluten-free pumpkin chocolate chip recipe. They looked pretty good and I thought the process was pretty innovative…this coming from someone who only really bakes with cake mixes or bleached cake flour. She uses blended up oats to make oat flour instead of using all-purpose flour. I will post the recipe below and you can try it for yourself, but my hunt for the perfect recipe is still on because my muffins look like this:  

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

My beautiful piles of POOPP

I’m calling them Pumpkin Pucks, that’s what my dad said they looked like when they came out of the oven. What every great chef wants their food compared to. But he could of said they looked like something much worse…just use your imagination. This is also where their full name Pungently odd oogy pumpkin pucks (aka poopp) comes from. And yes, they do taste as “good” as they look. My first instinct is to tell you they taste healthy (in a bad way). They are kind of chewy and squishy at the same time. They definitely taste pumpkin-y, but the texture and taste are just kind of off, probably from the oat flour and gluten-free-ness. The chocolate chips make it edible. I think this is saying a lot about my taste buds right now. I’m hoping if I eat enough of this healthy stuff, things like these pumpkin muffins will start to taste like a treat. But we are not there yet. We are actually no where close. If you actually want to try this for yourself, please see Chelsea’s blog, her’s look delicious. But as for me I am still looking for the perfect low calorie pumpkin muffin/bread. I’ll let you know when I find it. No if you’ll excuse me I need to find the closest Peet’s.

Ingredients

1 cup canned pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling)

2 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons brown sugar, lightly packed

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 large egg

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice, optional

1 cup + 1 tablespoon oat flour (oats that have been blended)

1/3 – 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Leave a Reply

