Heavenly Greek Yogurt Dipped Blueberry Granola Bars

After the pumpkin butterscotch granola bars were such a hit, I decided to try my hand at another granola  bar recipe, this one is adapted from the blog, Half Baked Harvest, who made a mean batch of Greek-yogurt dipped blueberry granola bars. If you aren’t familiar with Half Baked Harvest, this blog has great natural variations of family friendly recipes. I don’t have children yet, myself, but I do happen to have the sophistication of a child’s palate and I approve these recipes. I will give you a warning that despite the illusion that this is a healthy recipe the fact that these granola bars taste like blueberry cobbler is making me think twice. Anyways, Barbecue Man gave these a big thumbs up, and so did his parents, who helped him polish off his Tupperware of granola bars. I apologize, but this post will not have pictures to go along with the steps, but feel free to message me at anytime if you have questions about the steps. This recipe did have quite a few steps to it. First I combined all of the dry ingredients in a bowl. This includes: the oats, rice krispies, coconut, almonds and chia seeds. The original recipe did not include toasted coconut chips, but I had just bought a bag of them from Trader Joes and was really excited to use them. Next, I melted the peanut butter and honey in a microwave safe bowl. It only needs to be nuked for about 30 seconds. Then I stirred in the vanilla and salt. Then I combined the dry ingredients and honey peanut butter mixture together, like you are making rice krispy treats. I pressed the mixture into a foil lined baking sheet and stuck it in the freezer for about an hour. I liked that this recipe didn’t require any baking. The last batch of granola bars I made for Barbecue Man came out a little burnt after baking them, so it was nice to try something different. While the granola bars were freezing I whipped up the glaze for the tops of the bars. I started by microwaving the honey and yogurt together to make it liquidy. This only takes about 15-30 seconds. In a separate cup I made a paste out of the gelatin and water and then incorporated the  paste into the liquid yogurt mixture. I then added the salt and the powdered sugar. This creates a really thick icing. In the Half Baked Harvest blog she dips the granola bars bottoms in the icing and then drizzles the rest over the top. I am personally not that coordinated, so I took a spoon and drizzled the icing on top of each one, neglecting the bottoms. I then left the bars out to dry over night and wrapped them up in my usual adorable papers the next morning. These granola bars are so sweet, they will make a good treat or even a sweet dessert. Processed with VSCOcam Ingredients 2 cups rolled oats 1 1/2 cup rice krispies 1/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut ½ cup toasted coconut chips 1/4 cup whole roasted almonds, roughly chopped 1 tablespoon chia seeds 1/4 teaspoon salt 1/2 cup peanut butter 1/2 cup honey 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla 3/4 cup dried blueberries   Greek yogurt coating 1 tablespoon water 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1/2 teaspoon gelatin 1/4 cup Greek yogurt 1 tablespoon honey pinch of salt 2 cups powdered sugar

Leave a Reply

