To breakfast tacos, with love

If you know me, which you don’t because this a fairly anonymous blog I have only been writing for a week, then you know that I love breakfast. I have lived the majority of my life, not being aboard the breakfast bandwagon. When people would ask me if I wanted to go to breakfast or brunch I would ask, “why?”. I never understood why people would want to eat breakfast when you can indulge in dinner or better yet dessert. Then I discovered breakfast burritos. I think breakfast burritos and I’s love affair started during a trip to Huntington Beach with Barbecue Man. We were down there going to a wedding for one of Barbecue Man’s best friends. I have been living in Northern California and have really not been exposed to proper Mexican food, so every time I have ventured down to Southern California it has always turned into a binge-fest of what is always the best Mexican food of my life. During that trip I ate a breakfast burrito every morning, each day at a different restaurant. I couldn’t get enough of them. 

Now that I have a big girl job I relish the opportunity to go out to breakfast every Saturday and Sunday morning. I eat a very modest and healthy breakfast every weekday at my desk. Some sort of nuts and fruit or plain oatmeal and fruit. So on the weekend I take the opportunity to go buck-wild. Barbecue Man and I are on a diet right now, so I have to behave. I have always been a little on the plump side and let’s just say that college made me even juicier. So it’s finally time to drop the freshmen 15, 20, 25…let’s not put a number on it. This means I am being good. So I am trying to make all my favorite breakfast foods at home, and I am starting with breakfast burritos. Unfortunately it is Saturday and that means I am feeling very lazy and do not want to go to the grocery store. So I am improvising and inventing breakfast tacos (patent pending), because I do not have burrito sized tortillas on hand. I love breakfast burritos and the way I see it, making them small means I get to enjoy them twice or even thrice.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

First I lay out taco sized tortillas on a baking sheet and lay out some tater tots to thaw out while I cook the rest of the ingredients for my breakfast burritos…oops I mean tacos.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Next I scramble two eggs. One for Barbecue Man and one for myself. A great tip for making super delicious scrambled eggs is to add a couple of cold cubes of butter to your beaten eggs, as well as a splash of milk. I of course do not have butter today, because I wanted to keep with the theme of being disorganized so I have added cream cheese. And it looks disgusting. But I swear it tastes delicious, the cream cheese makes the eggs super fluffy. Also, make sure not to forget a little salt and pepper.

Processed with VSCOcam

Park your scrambled eggs on a large flour tortilla, so you can have room to make everything else that will go in this delicious little package of food.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Next fry up some sliced turkey kielbasa, till browned, as well as some diced up veggies. The veggies will make you feel better about eating the flour tortilla and improving your eggs with butter or cream cheese. See, we are kind of being healthy.

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Add the sausage and those foreign healthy things to your tortilla with the eggs.

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Now we are back to being unhealthy. So lets cover it with shredded cheese and put it in the oven for 10-15 minutes at 350. You want the tater tots to be warmed all the way through and the cheese to be melted.

Processed with VSCOcam

 

After you take your hot breakfast tacos out of the oven, pile on the salsa (store bought, naturally), sour cream and guacamole.

So pat yourself on the back. You made easy, non totally unhealthy plate of breakfast tacos in the comfort of your own home. Now go lock yourself in your room and show those tacos who’s boss.

I am sure you have figured this out by now but you could take this recipe, use a larger tortilla and turn it into a burrito. This is also a recipe you can make ahead of time if you are organized. Tortillas and eggs both come in bulk, so chances are you already have everything you need. Just repeat the recipe as many times as you can and roll each burritos up in cellophane. Pack the cellophane wrapped burritos in a large plastic bag and lock them away in your freezer. That way you can eat them all day every day. I used to do this for Barbecue Man so he wouldn’t stop at McDonalds on the way to work. I will warn you…if you are freezing the breakfast burritos, leave out the salsa, sour cream and avocado till after you have reheated the burritos in the microwave. It will keep them from getting soggy.

Time to eat my tacos. I can’t wait any longer. Buenos Dias.

Ingredients

4 taco sized flour tortillas

2 eggs

1 spoonful of cream cheese

A splash of milk

Turkey kielbasa

Diced veggies

Frozen tater tots

Shredded cheese

Sour cream

Guacamole

Salsa

2 comments

Leave a Reply

